Work with Data min read


As SingleStore Managed Service manages its own clusters, customers are only responsible for managing data and performing data-related tasks, including:

  • Database configuration
  • Schema design and implementation
  • Index and query tuning
  • Extract, transform, load (ETL)
  • User creation and permission assignment
  • Making requests for restoring backups
  • Making requests for increasing or decreasing cluster capacity

The default SingleStore Managed Service Admin user permissions include: GRANT SELECT, INSERT, UPDATE, DELETE, CREATE, DROP, PROCESS, INDEX, ALTER, SHOW METADATA, CREATE TEMPORARY TABLES, LOCK TABLES, EXECUTE, CREATE VIEW, SHOW VIEW, CREATE ROUTINE, ALTER ROUTINE, ALTER VIEW, DROP VIEW, CREATE DATABASE, DROP DATABASE, CREATE PIPELINE, DROP PIPELINE, START PIPELINE, ALTER PIPELINE, and SHOW PIPELINE.

This SQL Reference Overview contains all of the SQL commands that you can run against your database. Use the SQL Editor in SingleStore DB Studio to run commands directly against your cluster.

The following are some examples of how you can use SingleStore DB Studio to interact with your cluster.

Create a Database

Use the SQL Editor in SingleStore DB Studio to create a new database by entering and running the CREATE DATABASE command.

Load Data

When considering a method for loading data, ensure it is a feature that is supported by SingleStore Managed Service.

The easiest way to load data is to first upload it to Amazon S3 or Azure Blob Storage. Then, use SingleStore Pipelines to extract your data.

For an example of how to use SingleStore Pipelines to load a large dataset, see our Data Ingest guide.

Back Up Data

SingleStore Managed Service makes daily backups of all clusters and retains them for seven (7) days. While you can initiate your own backups, you cannot restore them to your cluster.

If a cluster backup needs to be restored, file a support ticket and SingleStore DB will restore the latest backup.